Review: Bang by E.K. Blair

Bang Cover

5 mind-bending Stars

Anticipation. It can easily be used for good or evil. It can sit you on the edge of your seat, filled with worry and wonder over what’s going to happen next. It can sit you on the edge of rage as you watch a story and characters you love go over a cliff. It can sit you on the edge of an orgasm, begging to be released. It’s an efficient weapon if your target is emotion or carnal desire. Its ability to manipulate is almost unmatched.

And I was its willing victim throughout this entire book.

Elizabeth Archer has been handed the kind of life that no one should ever have to live through. She had the fairytale – a father who adored her and took care of her and then it was all taken away and replaced with the worst of nightmares. Her only lifeline was Pike. He became her savior. Her brother. The only ally she had left. Unfortunately when you live in a nightmare, everything warps, especially the people.

Elizabeth is also Nina Vanderwal. And she is the center of the tornado that is this book. Caught up in the maelstrom are Bennett Vanderwal, her husband, and Declan McKinnon, who sets his sights on Nina almost immediately.

Nina is everything I love to hate in a character. She’s allowed pain to shape her soul to the point where she’s basically paralyzed in her head and heart. She’s a pathological liar. She’s ruthless. She uses her body as a weapon. She’s a pawn. But here’s the thing, here’s the reason why the anticipation kept coursing through my veins with this book: she is all of those things in every single page but she’s also the exact opposite of them in every single page. I don’t know if I’ve ever read a character that so completely inhabits both sides of the coin as she does. I want to rant and rave that she’s weak and mean, but then I would also have to admit she’s incredibly strong and devoted.

She is the beating heart to this book. She is what keeps the pages turning. She is what keeps you going back for more punishment. More pleasure. More anticipation.

E.K. Blair has master crafted an absolute mindfuck of a book with Bang. The rush of anticipation that goes with it doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of the paces this book put me through. But I thank Blair for each and every moment of it. For every time I wanted to scream, for every time I cried, for every time my teeth gritted, for every time my thighs clenched. For every visceral, feral emotion this book drug out of me, I sing Blair’s praises. It takes a brilliance I bow down to, to write a book this incredibly complicated of plot and emotion. It takes courage that makes me cheer for the art of writing to write characters like these. If there was a challenge to be issued for authors everywhere to step up their game? Bang is it.

You will probably not swoon when you read this book. You will probably want to scream and rant and rave about the choices the characters make. You will probably want to throttle me for suggesting you read it immediately. But you will eventually thank me. Once the adrenaline has worn off and you come back down to the reality of your every day. You will thank me for pushing you into this book. You will thank me for your latest dose of anticipation. I promise.

Leave a Reply

